TampaGov home page
             My TampaGov    en Español

Traffic School

Benefits

  1. Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled.
    Section 626.9541(1)(o)12, Florida Statutory Laws states: "No insurer shall impose or request an additional premium, cancel a policy, or issue a non-renewal notice on any insurance policy or contract because of any traffic infraction when adjudication of guilt has been withheld and no points are assessed pursuant to s.318.14(9) and (10). However, this subparagraph does not apply to traffic infractions involving accidents in which the insurer has incurred a loss due to the fault of the insured."

  2. Points may not be added to your Driver's License record, adjudication of guilt is withheld, safe driver status is maintained if applicable, and the fine is reduced 18%.
    Section 318.14(9), Florida Statutory Laws provides, in pertinent part, "Any person who is cited for an infraction under this section...may, in lieu of a court appearance , elect to attend in the location of his or her choice within this state a basic driver improvement course...In such case, adjudication must be withheld; points, as provided by s.322.27, may not be assessed, and the civil penalty that is imposed by s.318.18(3) must be reduced by 18 percent; however, a person may not make an election under this subsection if the person has made an election under this subsection in the preceding 12 months. A person may make no more than five elections under this subsection. The requirement for community service under s.318.18(7) is not waived by a plea of nolo contendere or by withholding of adjudication of guilt by a court."

Enrollment Procedure

  1. Within 30 days from the date you received the citation and prior to attending class you must perform the following:
    1. Inform the Clerk of the Court in the County where you received the traffic citation that you want to go to traffic school, and
    2. Pay an election fee to the Clerk of Courts in the county where you received the citation.
  2. Call the traffic school of your choice to register for class. Available traffic schools are listed in your local telephone directory under the heading "Driving Instruction".

Source:  Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles as of February 2000