TampaGov home page
             My TampaGov    en Español

About the Tampa Police Department


Chief of Police - Jane Castor

The Mission of the Tampa Police Department is to Reduce Crime and Enhance the Quality of Life
Through a Cooperative Partnership with all Citizens.

Chief Jane Castor


During her 30 years as a Tampa Police Officer, Chief Jane Castor has built a reputation for working side by side with citizens, neighborhood leaders, activists and business owners to solve crime problems and improve our community. Those strong partnerships are now the foundation of the Department's crime reduction strategy, leading to unprecedented success in making Tampa a safer city. Since it's induction in 2003, Chief Castor's Focus on Four crime reduction plan has been the driving force behind Tampa's 65.8% reduction in crime.

Read more of Chief Castor's Biography

The following bureaus report directly to the Office of the Chief:

  • The Internal Affairs Bureau

  • The Criminal Intelligence Bureau

  • The Legal Bureau

    Assistant Chief John Bennett

    Assistant Chief of Police - John Bennett

    Police Operations - Deputy Chief Eric Ward

    Major Paul Driscoll Major Keith O'Connor Major Diane Hobley-Burney Laura McElroy
    Major Paul Driscoll Major Keith O'Connor Major Diane Hobley-Burney Laura McElroy
    District One - West & South Tampa, Davis Island District Two - North & New Tampa District Three - East Tampa, Ybor City and Port of Tampa Media Relations Office

    Analytical Crime Mapping Unit

    Investigations and Support - Deputy Chief Brian Dugan

    Major Michael Baumaister
    Major Mary O'Connor
    Criminal Investigations Division
    Major Michael Baumaister
    Special Support Division
    Major Crimes Bureau Special Operations Bureau
    Strategic Operations Bureau Support Services Bureau
    Communications Bureau Specialty Teams