QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact customer service
toll free at 1-866-225-8875
What To Do If You Receive A Notice Of
Why did I receive a Notice of Violation?
Based upon images captured by the automated system, your vehicle was
determined to have committed a red-light violation. As the vehicle
owner, the Notice of Violation is mailed to you.
How much is the fine?
Each citation carries a $158 statutory penalty; however, no points
are assessed against your driving record.
If the fine is not paid within 30 days, a "Uniform Traffic Citation"
will be issued and increased penalties may be incurred including
How much time do I have to pay my Notice of Violation?
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date on your
Notice of Violation.
What are my options?
1. Pay the fine.
- Pay online. Log on to
www.ViolationInfo.com by entering your notice number and PIN
number shown in the red box on the front right of your notice.
Click the pay button. There is a convenience fee of $4.00 that
will be assessed at the time of payment.
- Pay by mail. Mail your check or money
order, payable to Automated Traffic Control Violation System, in
the enclosed envelope along with the coupon printed at the
bottom of the notice. Write the notice number and the license
plate number on your check or money order. Do not mail cash. The
mailing address is: P.O. Box 742503, Cincinnati, OH 45274-2503.
- Pay by credit card. Call toll free
1-866-790-4111 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.,
Monday - Friday. There is a convenience fee of $4.00 that will
be assessed at the time of payment.
2. To Contest the Violation.
- If you choose to appear before an
official of the county court or plead not guilty, do not respond
to this Notice of Violation.
- You will receive a Uniform Traffic
Citation within 60 days of the violation date via certified
- Instructions will be provided to you
by the county clerk's office as to how you should proceed.
3. Submission of Affidavit.
- As the registered owner of the
vehicle, you are deemed responsible for the violation and the
payment of a $158.00 penalty unless, in compliance with Florida
Statute § 316.0083(1)(d)1.a-d, you establish by a sworn
affidavit that a statutory exemption applies.
- If you assert that the vehicle was in
the care, custody, or control of another person, you must
provide the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the
driver's license number of the person who leased, rented, or
otherwise had care, custody, or control of the vehicle at the
time of the violation. ACCEPTANCE OF THIS ASSERTION BY THE TAMPA Police Department WILL RESULT IN THE ISSUANCE OF A
UNIFORM TRAFFIC CITATION TO THE PERSON NAMED IN THE AFFIDAVIT.
If the vehicle was stolen, then the affidavit must include a
copy of a police report showing the vehicle to have been stolen.
It is recommended that the affidavit or
payment be received eight (8) days prior to the due date specified
on the front page of this notice to be appropriately processed or a
UTC will be issued at a higher cost. The affidavit should be mailed
to: PO Box 22091, Tempe, AZ 85286-2091.
QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact customer
service toll free at 1-866-225-8875
What happens if I ignore the Notice of Violation?
If you fail to respond, a Uniform Traffic Citation ("UTC") will be
issued to you. YOU MAY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR COURT FEES AND COSTS. Upon
issuance of a UTC, you shall have the remedies specified in Florida
Statutes § 318.14, which include the right to have a hearing before
a designated official, who shall determine whether an infraction has
been committed. If the official concludes that no infraction has
been committed, no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the
official concludes that an infraction has been committed, the
official may impose an additional civil penalty not to exceed $500
and court fees and costs.
Will I receive any points on my driving record for this
No. This is a civil infraction that is not reported to the Florida
Department of Motor Vehicles.
Will my insurance rates be affected?
No. This is a civil infraction, and it is not reported to any
What if I was issued a citation from an officer for the same
If you assert that a UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer for
the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(C)1,
then you must include the serial number of the UTC with a sworn
affidavit. For faster processing, you may, but are not required to,
include a copy of the UTC.
My payment has already been sent; will I still be charged late
Late fees will NOT be assessed when your payment is postmarked on or
before the due date located on the front of your Notice of
I paid the violation; why did I receive another notice?
The notice you just received could be for additional violations or
it could be a second notice for a delinquent citation. If it is a
delinquent notice, chances are that your payment and the notice
crossed in the mail. It can take as many as 10 business days to show
in the system once it has reached our office. Call 1-866-790-4111 to
confirm that your payment was received.
Do I have to pay my fine the day of the hearing?
You must pay the full fine amount within 60 days of a liable
Can I be denied my legal rights as part of this "automated"
No. Anyone may appeal their citation to the city of Tampa or the
Will the county or city change the yellow light times to catch
more violators and make more money?
No. The State of Florida sets the yellow light time cycle for every
intersection in Florida and, in close conjunction with our city,
each camera will be routinely reviewed to ensure compliance with the