Mayor Jane Castor Joins Climate Mayors Steering Committee to Support City-led Climate Action

This notice is archived content and this information may no longer be accurate.

As part of Mayor Castor’s commitment to sustainability & resilience she has joined the Climate Mayor’s Steering Committee to collaborate with Mayor’s from across the United States to focus on ways cities will tackle our current and future climate crisis while committing to a robust sustainability and resilience effort.

“Our administration is laser focused on addressing climate change facing the City of Tampa and the region,” said Mayor Jane Castor. “We’re a region surrounded by water and while that is part of our beauty it also makes us ground zero for sea-level rise. I look forward to tackling this effort as a region while implementing best practices from coastal cities from around the globe.”

The Climate Mayors, a group of mayors across the US that are concerned with climate change, have launched a new steering committee that will support city-led climate action.

A total of 438 mayors belong to the group which is working to uphold the Paris Climate Agreement. 24 mayors will lead the new steering committee and will spotlight climate leadership exhibited in cities throughout the United States. The steering committee will also engage with the rest of the Climate Mayors to drive action at the municipal level and raise awareness of the myriad issues that arise from changes to the environment..

Members of the steering committee represent coastal cities and cities that are further inland. Cities of all sizes are also represented within the committee. The membership recognizes the need for cities to lead on climate change regardless of what policies are enacted at the federal level in part because individuals interact most closely with their city government and it is often municipal leaders that are called upon to respond to disaster first.


Members of the Climate Mayors steering committee include:


Steve Adler (Austin, TX)

Ethan Berkowitz (Anchorage, AK)

Jim Brainard (Carmel, IN)

Michael Cahill (Beverly, MA)

Kirk Caldwell (Honolulu, HI)

LaToya Cantrell (New Orleans, LA)

Melvin Carter (Saint Paul, MN)

Jane Castor (Tampa, FL)

Frank Cownie (Des Moines, IA)

Bill de Blasio (New York City)

Mike Duggan (Detroit, MI)

Buddy Dyer (Orlando, FL)

Kevin Faulconer (San Diego, CA)

Greg Fischer (Louisville, KY)

Kate Gallego (Phoenix, AZ)

Michael Hancock (Denver, CO)

James Hovland (Edina, MN)

Eric Johnson (Dallas, TX)

Lioneld Jordan (Fayetteville, AR)

Tim Keller (Albuquerque, NM)

Ron Nirenberg (San Antonio, TX)

Bill Peduto (Pittsburgh, PA)

Satya Rhodes-Conway (Madison, WI)

Lucy Vinis (Eugene, OR)