QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact customer service toll free at 1-866-225-8875
What To Do If You Receive A Notice Of Violation
Why did I receive a Notice of Violation?
Based upon images captured by the automated system, a vehicle registered to you was determined to have committed a red-light violation. As the registered vehicle owner, the Notice of Violation is mailed to you.
How much is the fine?
Each violation carries a $158 statutory penalty; however, no points are assessed against your driving record.
How much time do I have to pay my Notice of Violation?
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date on your Notice of Violation or choose one of the options below.
What are my options?
1. Pay the fine on or before the due date specified on the Notice of Violation.
- Pay online. Log on to www.ViolationInfo.com by entering your Notice Number and PIN shown in the red box on the front right of your notice. Click the pay button. You will be charged an additional convenience fee at the time of payment.
- Pay by mail. Mail your check or money order, payable to City of Tampa, FL, in the enclosed envelope along with the coupon printed at the bottom of the Notice. Write the Notice Number and the license plate number on your check or money order. Do not mail cash. The mailing address is: City of Tampa, FL, Payment Processing Center, PO Box 742527, Cincinnati, OH 45274-2527.
- Pay by phone. Call toll free 1-866-225-8875 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You will be charged an additional convenience fee at the time of payment.
- No walk-in payments will be accepted.
2. Request a Hearing.
- An authorized person who receives a Notice of Violation may request a hearing before a City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer by signing and mailing the Hearing Request Form provided in the Notice of Violation on or before the due date on the Notice of Violation. You will be notified by letter of the time, location and date of the hearing.
- If you request a hearing and the City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer concludes that no infraction has been committed, this Notice will be dismissed and no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the Local Hearing Officer concludes that an infraction has been committed, the Local Hearing Officer will uphold the infraction, and you will be responsible for payment of a $158 fine as well as additional $50 in administrative fees and costs imposed by the City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer.
- Per Florida Statutes, once you have requested a hearing before a City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer, you may cancel your appearance by paying the $158 penalty assessed, plus $50 in administrative costs, before the start of the hearing. The amount due will be $208.
3. Submit an Affidavit.
- As the registered owner of the vehicle, you are deemed responsible for the violation and the payment of a $158 penalty unless, in compliance with Florida Statute § 316.0083(1)(d)1.a-d, you establish WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER THE DATE OF ISSUANCE OF THE NOTICE by a sworn affidavit that a statutory exemption applies. You may download an affidavit at www.ViolationInfo.com.
- If you assert by affidavit that the vehicle was in the care, custody, or control of another person, you must provide the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the driver's license number of the person who leased, rented, or otherwise had care, custody, or control of the vehicle at the time of the violation. The affidavit must be sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths. AN AFFIDAVIT THAT IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE STATUTE WILL RESULT IN THE ISSUANCE OF A NOTICE OF VIOLATION TO THE PERSON NAMED IN THE AFFIDAVIT. If the vehicle was stolen, then the affidavit must include a copy of a police report showing the vehicle to have been stolen.
- The affidavit should be mailed to: City of Tampa, FL c/o Intersection Safety Program, PO Box 22091, Tempe, AZ 85286-2091.
4. Ignore the Notice of Violation or no response is received.
- A Uniform Traffic Citation will be issued to you by certified mail if you fail to pay the Notice of Violation, request a hearing before a City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer, or submit a sufficient affidavit within the time periods afforded in the Notice of Violation. Instructions will be provided to you by the County Clerk's Office as to how you should proceed, but you will have the option to pay the Uniform Traffic Citation at a higher fine than the Notice of Violation, contest the citation, or submit an affidavit. A Uniform Traffic Citation will be reported to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and points may be assessed for a violation.
- IF A CITATION IS ISSUED, YOU MAY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR COURT FEES AND COSTS. Upon issuance of a Uniform Traffic Citation, you shall have the remedies specified in Florida Statute § 318.14, which include the right to have a hearing before a designated Judge or Magistrate in the County Civil Traffic Division, who shall determine whether an infraction has been committed. If the Judge or Magistrate concludes that no infraction has been committed, no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the official concludes that an infraction has been committed, the Judge or Magistrate may impose an additional civil penalty not to exceed $500 and court fees and costs. Failure to pay a Uniform Traffic Citation will cause your driver’s license to be suspended.
Will I receive any points on my driving record for a Notice of Violation which results in a finding of a violation or if paid and uncontested?
You will not receive any points on my driving record for a Notice of Violation because a Notice of Violation is a civil infraction that is not reported to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. However, if a Uniform Traffic Citation is issued, you may be assessed points for a violation.
Will my insurance rates be affected?
Not for a Notice of Violation as this is a civil infraction and it is not reported to any insurance carrier or agencies. However, if a Uniform Traffic Citation is issued, your insurance rates may be affected.
What if I was issued a citation from an officer for the same offense?
If you assert that a Uniform Traffic Citation was issued by a law enforcement officer for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(c)1, then you must include the serial number of the Uniform Traffic Citation with a sworn affidavit. For faster processing, you may, but are not required to, include a copy of the Uniform Traffic Citation.
My payment has already been sent; will I still be charged late fees?
Late fees will NOT be assessed when your payment is postmarked on or before the due date located on the front of your Notice of Violation.
I paid the violation; why did I receive another notice?
The notice you just received could be for additional violations or it could be a second notice for a delinquent citation. If it is a delinquent notice, it is possible that your payment and the notice crossed in the mail. It can take as many as 10 business days to show in the system once it has reached our office. Call 1-866-790-4111 to confirm that your payment was received.
Can I be denied my legal rights as part of this "automated" program?
No. Anyone may choose challenge their Notice of Violation before a City of Tampa Local Hearing Officer or choose to challenge their Uniform Traffic Citation before a County Civil Traffic Division Judge or Magistrate.
Will Hillsborough County or the City of Tampa change the yellow light times to catch more violators and make more money?
No. The State of Florida sets the yellow light time cycle for every intersection in Florida and, in close conjunction with the City of Tampa, each camera will be routinely reviewed to ensure compliance with the law.